you caN HAVE VEGAN INDIA! POSTS DELIVERED TO YOUR INBOX TOO! type your email id and click submit!

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Vegan Soan Papdi from ‘KC Das’, Bangalore


Update as on August 26, 2011: KC Das, St. Marks Road branch has discontinued the below mentioned "diet" or vegan soan papdis because according to them, they were "not moving". We found out about this when we called up to place an order. You can enjoy some of the soan papdis from Haldiram's which continue to be vegan.

There was a time many years back when the soan papdis available used to be a delectable affair of glazing yellow strands, each separate, and when put inside the mouth, they would simply melt. This became fast uncommon and was replaced by the version that seemed to drip in ghee (clarified butter).

KC Das has both versions. The Vegan soan papdis are known as “diet” soan papdi in which rice-bran oil is used in place of ghee and fructose from Ensigns Healthcare is used in place of refined sugar. They are flavored with ground cardamoms and they melt in the mouth!

Cost factor: The soan papdis are available at the rate of Rs.15/- per piece.

Availability: Besides Bangalore, KC Das as several branches across two other cities—Kolkata and Mysore. The “diet” or Vegan soan papdis are available only at the No. 48, St. Marks Road branch, Bangalore - 560001. The telephone number of this branch is 080-25592021.

Vegan notes:
Why refined sugar may not be vegan?
Dairy products and 10 false promises

“People are the only animals that drink the milk of the mother of another species. All other animals stop drinking milk altogether after weaning. It is unnatural for a dog to nurse from a mother giraffe; it is just as unnatural for a human being to drink the milk of a cow.” ~Dr. Michael Klaper, M.D., Author of ‘Pregnancy, Children, and the Vegan Diet’~
 

5 comments:

  1. OMG the world really is changing!! These are the guys why fry their SAMOSAS in Ghee. I cannot believe they actually have a Vegan Soan Papdi (even if it happens to be Vegan by mistake)!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am so happy with this information! I am going to try it at home soon.

    ReplyDelete
  3. After reading this post I was so excited. But when I went to KC Das and asked if their diet Soan Papdi contained ghee, the guy insisted that it was made with loads of ghee. :( Guess it was too good to be true. *sigh*

    ReplyDelete
  4. Veganosaurus: This is extremely strange. The concept of "diet" does not go with "loads of ghee". So whichever salesman gave you that information must have been ill-informed. They clearly have two varieties of soah papdis unless they have not changed that now! Bad luck!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Veganosaurus: Hey, KC Das St. Marks' Road Bangalore still has the vegan sohan papdis... confirmed that! The salseman misguided you. Please always ask to speak with Prasad when you go there to purchase the vegan sohan papdis.

    ReplyDelete

Ahimsa Paramo Dharmaha! Non-violence supersedes all other duties! This blog is work-in-progress to make the Earth a little less violent. Are you on the same task as well? Best wishes to you and thank you for reading this post. Do feel free to type in and share any information that you think might be significant to this story.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.